Orphan Island

All of the book chat books I have read this year were amazing but my favourite was probably Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder. I would put this book into the family and friendship genre because the 9 kids bond and form special relationships.

The story is about 9 kids that live on an island. Every year a boat comes with no driver, just a little kid. The eldest of the 9 kids must then leave on that boat. The next eldest of the 9 is responsible for the other 8. When Jinny’s (the main character) time comes to leave, she doesn’t. There have never been 10 kids on the island so things start going wrong.

 I loved this book because at the end of every chapter it left you on a cliffhanger. The start was really grabbing so I couldn’t put it down. The end of the book annoyed me because it left you hanging and there is no sequel so you never find out what happens. I really got an idea of the personalities of the characters and got to know them. There was one girl of the 9 that really annoyed me because she was really rude and self centred. But to be fair, towards the end she got better.

Have you read Orphan Island? If so who was your favourite character and why? If not then what has been your favourite book chat book?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *